A Musical about ET Contact

For yonks now I’ve wanted to write a musical. And now that I have finished the first draft of my last play I am going to have a break and write a musical about ET contact. I don’t know how many of you like musicals but I love them !

There’s :

  • Phantom of the Opera – the story of damaged man who lives in a sewer under the Paris Opera and tries to ensnare Christine into his web of obsessive love.
  • Into the Woods – the story of some fairy tales we all know, which get all mixed up with a journey Into the Woods.
  • Jesus Christ Super Star – the story of Jesus the Man and the cult that he wanted to disown and his doubts about his father.
  • Wicked – the story of a Witch who didn’t follow the yellow brick road.
  • Sunday in the Park with George – the story about a painter who likes to spend time in a park and his observations about humanity and the difficulties of art.
  • Cats – the story of some upper class and lower class cats from the ageing avant garde poet TS Eliot.
  • South Pacific – the love story of an American nurse in the South Pacific in WW2
  • Oklahoma – the story of a bunch of different folks in Americas south central trying to make sense of life.
  • Rock of Ages – the story about the dull and boring lives of Glam Rockers in the 1980s’.
  • Sweeney Todd – the story of a very twisted barber and his bloodthirsty pie cooking wife.

And a gazillion others !

So why write a musical about ET contact ? Why not ? I know what the experience feels like from the inside and I think musicals are a wonderful medium for educating the public and a great way to enter the consciousness of the masses. I get so sick and tired of all the bad ETs bullshit, that I’m going to try a different way to create an antidote to the poison of untruth. And besides which I love music and musicals and see this as another way to express who I am and what’s inside.

I started writing the lyrics yesterday and will be doing very little planning for this project. On Christmas Eve I lay awake singing a couple of imaginary scenes. Here’s some lyrics that haunted me …

“You snatched me from my bed,

You took me against my will !

Who are you ?

Who are you ?

Maybe you’re all in my head !

Who are you ?

Who are you ?

Maybe I’m better off dead !”

“I can’t stand this.

One minute I’m here

The next I’m not,

One minute I’m awake

The next I feel like I’m dreaming.

Something has happened

has happened to me.

Something’s not right

I’m so confused

I can’t make sense

Of this thing that I’m feeling.

My senses are reeling.

What is it that I’m feeling ?

Why are you doing this

To me ?”

“I know it’s hard for you

so very hard for you.

Don’t worry

Don’t worry

You’ll be home soon

You’ll see your love ones again.

Don’t worry

Don’t worry

There’s something we wish to show you

But you must let go

Of all of your fear…”

“We only gave you

What you could handle,

What could lead you

Past your fear

and your desire for control.

So many expectations

about everything

So many expectations

about who we are…”

The lyrics are pretty simple but I think that’s what’s necessary for a story like this. The story of a man who discovers he’s having contact; contact which he later learns began in childhood; contact which utterly transforms his life. I suppose it’s a bit autobiographical but I’m going to try to add lots elements that others can relate to and show the journey he goes on, from a place of total fear to a place of unconditional love and acceptance.

I have a bunch of names but nothing that’s stuck yet ! I like the idea of it having something to do with HOME but there’s a another musical by that name. Any ideas ?

Anyway, that’s what I will be up to while I’m away during January. It’s also high fire danger season here and last year we had big bush fires in January. I’m optimistic I can have a relaxed month but we may end up having to evacuate again ! But this time if we do, I’ll be singing ditties to myself about a weird guy who is trying to make sense of these strange experiences he’s been having.

A friend of mine was friends with Andrew Lloyd Webber and she told me he was called Poo Bear by close friends because he was always humming like Winnie the Poo. This January 1st I began following Dudes lead by collecting leaves for my plant collection. This year I’ll be following Poo Bears lead and humming my way through a musical about aliens.

Happy Christmas/Boxing Day to all !

Bright.

PS. I wanted to write a musical about Dude but the idea didn’t go down too well with certain people.

About brightgarlick

Ecclectic kinda guy, who loves life and saviours each day as it is.

Posted on December 26, 2014, in Musical and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. 1000 aeroplanes on the roof by David Henry Hwang (heavy lyrics), music by Phillip Glass. I directed the play in Copenhagen in 1997.

  2. Thanks Carsten, sounds very interesting. I love Phillip Glass – of course I forgot Einstein on the Beach !!!! Listening to 1000 Aeroplanes now and shortly to read the lyrics !!! Thanks for the nudge back to Mr Glass. Plenty of inspiration there !

  3. I didn’t know it was about alien abduction. Fascinating. Love the music ! Maybe I can wrestle the fear and anxiety out of the subject and away from abduction and back to contact ! 😉 Thanks for letting me know that the subject has been tackled. I thought I know many of Glass’s pieces but this one was unfamiliar to me !

Leave a Reply

All Bricks

Showing the world, the variety of different amazing Building Blocks, including LEGO and it’s Chinese Clones

Silentium et Musicorum

From silence to music and everything in between

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Ramble

Intransitive verb, 1. Wander freely. 2. Write or talk incoherently.

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

Macy Afterlife: The Beacon

Exploring our spiritual heritage, our ancient other-worldly roots, and our paradise destiny

Leonardo Boff

O site recolhe os artigos que escrevo semanalmente e de alguns outros que considero notáveis.Os temas são ética,ecologia,política e espiritualidade.

ventania solar

from http://ventaniasolar.blogspot.com.br/

The Pagan Collective of Victoria

Connect. Share. Celebrate.

Climate Change Sanity

Climate change is primarily a natural phenomenon!

ellisnelson

children's author

ILY

A Magazine About Love

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Gowers's Weblog

Mathematics related discussions

my word in your ear

words for dissemination ... poetry commentary and selected poems ... Richard Scutter

Journeys in Spirit

with Cristen Rodgers

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Colossus

With just enough learning to misquote

Banvilleville

The fictional diary of an utterly fictional John Banville in his fictional universe.

Fatiesta's Rants

Life of A Partial Psychopath

What's new

Updates on my research and expository papers, discussion of open problems, and other maths-related topics. By Terence Tao

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

Kelly McGonigal, PhD

Where science and compassion meet.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Paradise Preoccupied

Views of the world from a tiny island

Dear Kitty. Some blog

On animals, peace and war, science, social justice, women's issues, arts, and much more

Fourcultures

Cultural Theory and Society

Social Health

Insights on the Power of Social Bonds

Adventures in Juggling

living this circus life, what else would I be doing but juggling?

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

A Buick in the Land of Lexus

fresh hell trumps stale heaven

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

mulatto diaries

creating a bye-racial world

anyonething

A lot of rambling about a lot of things

Musical Nourishment

Cultivating great musical taste

Beyond the Weatherzone................

What are they doing to our weather? Is it HAARP? The NWC transmitter?Or just a software glitch?

Anomalous Inquisition

Exploring Existence Through Science, Philosophy, Art and Beyond.

The World as we Know it.

Nature, Media, Adventure, and the politics of Self-Mastery

Sparrow's Ramblings

Life how I see it from my nest on the High Plains

Alien Dolls

Handmade alien dolls, and alien hybrid dolls

